Skip to content

The burnt-out ends of smoky days

December 31, 2010
tags:

I like the shirt-within-a-shirt idea. It’s interesting – not in a double-take while walking down the street type crazy, like the woman I once saw who wore a small stuffed animal on her hat, but interesting in a more subdued way. Recently in Worn, I read an interview with Grant Heaps. He’s a costume-person (look, there’s probably an official term, but it probably has an overly complicated arrangement of letters like “Attire Vigilance Moderator” or something. He takes care of the costumes, kay?) He mentioned in high school he’d wear five shirts at once, each one a little shorter than the other so the tails would show. This is obviously in the Old Days, before they invented overheating. I cannot imagine what would happen if he had to run someplace and create any form of excess body heat whatsoever, but my god would he look cool while doing it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 4:33 am

    Funny timing – I was just experimenting with the shirt-within-a-shirt look today. I don’t think I found a winning combo in my closet, but I like what you came up with!

    • Chuffy Stilton permalink*
      December 31, 2010 2:56 pm

      Thank you! I think the trick is to find a shirt that fits closely, or else the end result looks as though you just threw on the last of your wardrobe on laundry day.

Leave a Reply

